The National Assembly of Vietnam adjusted its rules for e-visas and visa-free travel, with the changes due to come into effect in August

The government has extended the period in which regular passport holders from Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, and the UK can visit the country without applying for a visa from 15 days to 45 days.

Additionally, the duration of e-visas has been extended from 30 days up to three months. E-visas will also now allow for multiple entries into Vietnam, rather than the old arrangement of single-entry e-visas currently in use. Passport holders from 80 countries, including the UK and US, are currently eligible for e-visas.

All changes will come into force from 15 August, according to corporate immigration and visa advisor Newland Chase.